How do I delete my hangout account permanently?

If you no longer want to use Google Hangouts, the best thing to do is delete your account. This will ensure that your name and email address are not still associated with the service in case you change your mind in the future. You can also choose to deactivate your account if you’re only temporarily stopping use of it, but deleting it permanently should be considered if you’re sure that this is what you want. Let’s go through how to delete an account on Google Hangouts step by step!

How do I delete my hangout account permanently?

Before we start, please know that this article is written assuming you used the Google Hangouts app on a mobile device. If you instead primarily use your browser to access it and don’t have a Gmail or G Suite account, the process will be different and I’m not sure what all the steps involved are. In either case, deleting your account on your computer is the same process, so it’s covered in this article.

Steps:

  1. Log into your Google Account on a browser, such as Chrome or Firefox (a Gmail account is required to log into Hangouts). This will open up a new tab/window for Google Hangouts. If you don’t already have multiple windows/tabs open for this account, it will take you to the main page.
  2. Scroll down to the bottom of the Hangouts page and click on “Account.”
  3. On the following menu, click on “Delete Google Account and Data.” A notification box will appear asking if you are sure about deleting your account.
  4. Click on the red “Delete Account” button at the bottom. A new box will appear asking you to confirm your decision.
  5. Click on “OK, DELETE MY ACCOUNT” in this box to confirm that you are ready for it to be deleted, and then Hangouts will close itself. You can reopen it by clicking on “Sign in” and signing back in with your Google account.

Do note that while Hangouts will be deleted, some files related to it may not be immediately removed from your computer after deleting the account. For example, all media (images, videos) that you saved on the app might still remain. You can delete these manually (and it’s recommended that you do) by going to your computer’s trash/recycle bin and finding the files there.

This article is written assuming you are using an Android device to use Google Hangouts. If you are instead primarily using a browser, or have no email account specifically associated with your Google Account, this process will be different and this article doesn’t cover it. However, deleting your account on a computer is the same process, so that part will be covered here.

Steps:

  1. Go to Hangouts in your app drawer and tap on the hamburger/menu icon (three horizontal lines) in the top-left corner. A dropdown menu with several options will appear.
  2. Scroll down to the bottom and find the option labeled “Account.” Tap on it.
  3. On the next popup, tap on “Delete account” in bold at the very top of this page. A window with a red delete button will appear.
  4. Tap once on this red delete button to confirm your decision.
  5. Wait for Hangouts to delete your account, and they will notify you when it’s done with a popup saying “Account deleted.” If you attempt to go back into the app after this point, you will not be able to log in because your account has been removed from Google’s servers.

After deleting the account on your computer, you can go to the trash/recycle bin on your device and delete any files that are left over after the account is deleted. This includes all media (pictures, videos) saved via Google Hangouts itself.

Please note that while deleting your Google Hangout account will ensure it’s not associated with your email address anymore, there may still be files left over on your computer that are associated with it. For example, all media you saved via the Google Hangouts app might remain. To delete these manually, go to the trash/recycle bin of your device and delete any files from “Google” or “Hangouts.”

You will not lose any data from outside sources (i.e., anything not associated with your Google account) by deleting your Hangouts account! In fact, you will even gain access to a few bonus features from Google’s other services after deleting your account. For example, if you have a YouTube account, you’ll now be able to watch videos on YouTube without being logged in to your Google account! Also, if you have a Gmail account, deleting your Hangouts account will not delete this one. In fact, deleting the Gmail account is recommended if you don’t plan to use it in any way going forward because it will free up your email address for others to use.

Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns in the comments below! I will do my best to get back to you as soon as possible, but please note that it might take me a few days to respond. Thank you very much for reading!

You May Also Like